Accidents happen and the workplace is one of the most common places where an injury can occur. After a workplace injury, you are entitled to file an NJ workers compensation claim and obtain benefits. These benefits cover your medical care and a portion of lost wages that are caused by a permanent or temporary disability.
However, workers complain New Jersey does not automatically give them these benefits but they need to file a workers’ compensation claim to obtain benefits. There are a few steps you must take when filing a claim.
The moment you suffer a workplace injury, tell your supervisor and see a doctor. If it is an emergency then you will not need your employer’s authorization for where treatment is sought. Emergency services will be called to the scene to transport you to the nearest hospital or clinic. If the injury is a non-emergency then you must go to an approved doctor by your employer.
If you fail to do so, your NJ workers comp claim can be denied. Once you meet with a doctor, it is important to tell them exactly what happened and that the incident was work-related. This will help them determine the best treatment option for you and be able to document medical expenses properly. We have seen many workers complain New Jersey does not always have access to their medical documents.
Due to this, it is important that you keep copies of your medical records, bills, and any prescriptions or return to work notes. This will help your NJ workers comp claim process go more smoothly.
We often see workers complain New Jersey has strict reporting rules for workers comp. As we previously mentioned, you must report your injury to your supervisor but you must also provide your employer with written notice of the incident. You have 90 days to do so. It is not required to have this in writing but any good attorney will advise you to have everything in writing. You should include the following in your notice:
- Date and time of the incident
- The supervisor, boss, or person in charge at the time
Keep a copy of this notice for your records. Your employer is then required to file a First Report of Injury form within 21 days of you providing notice. Workers complain New Jersey employers do not file these forms on time. If this happens you need to contact a workers compensation attorney immediately to help with your NJ workers comp claim. Once filed, your claim will either be accepted or denied.
A Denied Claim
Workers complain New Jersey denies claims too easily, which is why you will need an aggressive and experienced attorney by your side through the process. If your claim has been denied, it can be for a myriad of reasons.
Schedule a Consultation With Dezao Law Today
Contact an attorney to review your case. An attorney will advise you on the best method to take and help you file the appropriate paperwork. If you need assistance filing an NJ workers comp claim contact The Law Offices of James C. DeZao, P.A. at (973) 358-6134 today.